top of page

Fashion Designer from AUB exploring her Brain Cyst and CLO3D on her final collection.


Talk to us about who you are and what/who inspired you to become a Fashion Designer?


My name is Tamsin Bruce. Fashion has always been something of interest to me as a way to express individuality. When I was younger, I loved clothes and the idea of making your own. I would make little clothes for my Bratz dolls out of fabric samples! I was always quite arty as a child and was very practical, which probably comes from my dad going to an art and technical college and being a carpenter.


How does your style differentiate from other Designers?


My designs show masculine, unorthodox shapes for the woman, with feminine elements.

My style has always had a digital edge in the way I present and layer imagery, however within the last few months it has evolved to have a strong digital outcome, yet still incorporating graphic print alongside fabric manipulation to create dimension.

Who is your Target Consumer?


Identity in print is an influential and paramount element of the Tamsin Jessica’s consumer. You have an edge: embrace it, display it. My target consumer is the individual woman with a free spirit. One that wants to express themselves elegantly, through making a statement in what they believe in, wearing bold colour and print, sharing experiences with loved ones. They are confident and comfortable to be in the variety.

What are your views on up-coming Digital Fashion Trends, like Virtual Catwalks, 3D Printed Collections, and AR apparel?


I think it is great how the fashion industry is evolving with technology, it shows growth and innovation. It also allows for those in the industry to express their creativity in a completely different, refreshing way that could enable outcomes that otherwise might not have happened. Brands can show their skill -using alternative avenues, catering towards different audiences’ viewing platforms.


How do you think Technology will influence the Future of Fashion Design?

Technology is becoming a big part within the fashion industry. I think technology will evolve the fashion design industry in the sense of virtually creating what we can physically, adding film and animation elements to the fashion industry.

For example, the recent Burberry TB summer collection campaign shows Kendall Jenner in CGI. This adds something different and catches the audience’s eye! Covid-19 is making creatives be more creative! Being innovative in their ways to showcase collections other than a runway. Technology aids us in this way.


Tell us a bit more about your submissions for Creatives in Isolation and what drew you to explore your Brain Cyst experience that you had as a child.


When researching for my final major project,

I wanted to do something to ensure people feel connected to it. Growing up I felt that people are quick to judge others, even when they don’t really know them. With this I came to the idea that nothing is a clear picture until a full story is told; a blur is created; we have to look deeper in order to know the fine points, and for me a chapter in my story is my brain cyst.

I was also drawn to researching more about the brain and how it works, as it interested me to see how my brain cyst caused different things such as epilepsy.

We notice you’ve developed what appears as an avatar as the model for your collection. Talk to us through that a bit more.

Due to Covid-19 we could not finish our collections in the way of manufacture. I used CLO3D within university, however, I elevated my skills in Lockdown, creating my collection virtually, producing avatars as my models and styling them with my final virtual collection.


We liked the incorporation of the glasses on your Avatars. - Could you say that it hints at Technology or Fashion Futures? Does this connect with your experience of your epilepsy?

My glasses were a styling choice made to compliment my collection with a sporty edge and to give my collection a continuous feature. I would say it hints at technology as I was inspired by futuristic elements, especially with my collection being created virtually; it continued the digital essence.

As a Digital Fashion Designer, would you say printing Technologies enhance or hinder the materials, prints and creative process?

Within my Final Major Project, I created a lot of print digitally, as that enabled me to experiment to create a strong graphic print in the end. However when it came to printing techniques, I used the traditional printing method of screen-printing, using the digital prints I made on my computer as an acetate. This added character to my outfits and allowed me freedom with positioning on the garments themselves, adding my print onto fabric I had sourced. I also used digital print, which allowed me to tie in all of my colours for my collection together as if I was making my own fabric. I am open minded to most printing techniques and will always try something new as it might produce an outcome better than expected!


A clear advantage from Digital Design is the opportunity to contribute to innovation around sustainability in the Fashion Industry. Would you say Sustainability is important to you and has therefore influenced your approach to Design?

Sustainability is important to me.

Digital design and pattern software such as CLO3D and LECTRA has opened designers’ eyes to expand what we can achieve digitally before manufacture; fittings and toiles/mock ups can be tested virtually and accurately before making a final mock up or final manufacture. This means less use of raw materials and less impact on the environment.

Personally, where I can I love to shop in charity shops to reuse ,rather than throw away.

How do you see this influencing your career as a designer?

It will influence me through my career as using digital means to minimise waste will always be a consideration. I would love to work within the digital fashion sector of the industry as I really see clothing campaigns adding virtual fashion for an eye-catching, bold statement and possibly reducing environmental impact as a result.

As a Design student graduating in 2020, did you experience a shift in the way your studies approached Fashion, Technology and Sustainability? How?

Within University sustainability was a theme from the outset and a subject spoken about and looked into by students or teachers.


In my view , Arts University Bournemouth has always been a step ahead in the use of software and techniques in digital fashion. Each year they are introducing it to the students quicker and quicker and including technological advances. Using this software helped me to be more sustainable with my pattern cutting as it allowed me to see fit before printing my patterns.

Understanding that as a Design student you are required to create quality projects that often involve more than the production of your garments. What resources were available to you that enabled you to deliver your vision and which ones were absent?


Originally, I had organised a shoot (prior to Covid-19) to be at Peckham Levels in London but for obvious reasons that did not go ahead. During lockdown I took the time to make CLO3D my best friend. I created the styling elements that I had bought, as best I could, digitally. I recreated this shoot in fully rendered virtual fashion images to deliver my vision.


bottom of page